SMMT News UK Manufacturing

Automotive Council members named

25 November 2009 #SMMT News #UK Manufacturing

Business secretary, Lord Mandelson announced the full line-up of members of the Automotive Council during his keynote address at the SMMT International Automotive Summit (24 November 2009). SMMT’s chief executive, Paul Everitt and president, Joe Greenwell will sit on the 21-strong council.

Announced as part of government’s response to the New Automotive Innovation and Growth Team (NAIGT) report into the automotive industry, Richard Parry-Jones will chair the Council.
A Supply Chain Council and a Technology Council will also be set up as part of the Automotive Council which will address the strategic challenges facing the car industry over the longer term. The membership has been drawn from a wide ranging area of industry expertise and represents every part of the automotive design and manufacturing sector. The first meeting will take place in December.
The full list of Automotive Council members is below:
David Smith (Deputy), Jaguar Land Rover
Gordon Murray (Deputy), Gordon Murray Design
Joe Greenwell,  Ford
Barry Dodd, Addpower Technologies
John Miles, ARUP
Jon Carling, Aston Martin
Franz-Josef Paefgen, Bentley
Jürgen Hedrich, BMW
Gwenne Henricks, Caterpillar
Nigel Stein, GKN Auto
Bill Parfitt, GM
Kenneth Keir, Honda
Andrea Paver, Leyland Trucks
Trevor Mann, Nissan
Jerry Hardcastle, Nissan
Dave Keene, RDM Automotive/Niche Vehicles Group
Hermann Kaess, Robert Bosch
Paul Everitt, SMMT
Graham Smith, Toyota
Dave Osborne, UNITE
Brian Collins, Chief Scientific Adviser, BIS and DfT
For more information on the work of the NAIGT please click here

Filter News

Update Newsletter