SMMT Events

SMMT Electrified 2021

Thursday 25 March, London
10:15-15:00 GMT

Given the global restrictions in relation to COVID-19 and concern for the health and wellbeing of all involved, the SMMT Electrified 2021 will now be in the format of an online event. The event will run from 10:15 to 15:00 on Thursday 25 March 2021.

With road transport decarbonisation at the heart of the UK government’s net zero ambitions and the forthcoming UK-hosted COP26 Climate Change Summit in 2021, SMMT Electrified will provide a high-profile agenda-setting platform for the automotive industry. The conference is designed to consolidate the sector’s leadership position in the drive to zero, and will bring together industry leaders, government, media and key stakeholders from the energy, fleet and logistics sectors to discuss the latest developments and what is needed to create a sustainable transport system fit for today, and tomorrow.

Keynote speakers include:

  • Andreas Krüger, Head of E-Mobility, Volkswagen Passenger Cars
  • Rt Hon. Grant Shapps MP, Secretary of State for Transport
  • Anneliese Dodds MP, Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer
  • Peter Rawlinson, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Technology Officer, Lucid Motors
  • Jonathan Goodman, UK Chief Executive and Head of Global Communications for Polestar

The virtual nature of this year’s event will enable Electrified to reach an even broader audience from our membership and key industry stakeholders.

The panels will look at:

  • Are zero tailpipe emission vehicles the best answer to decarbonisation and Net-Zero?
  • Horses for courses – finding the right solution for the right vehicles
  • Ensuring the energy system supports an escalated uptake of EVs
  • Key enablers in getting consumers on board the journey
  • Building a robust and circular value chain to support the escalated production of EVs
  • Riding the challenge of decarbonising fleets of commercial and heavy-duty vehicles

Speakers will include:

  • Antonio Balboa, Vice President – Sales & Application for Powertrain Solutions, Robert Bosch
  • Patrick Bion, Chief of Product, Arrival
  • Baroness Brown of Cambridge DBE FREng FRS, Deputy Chair, Committee on Climate Change
  • Graham Belgum, Chief Executive, Optare Group
  • Ian Cameron, Head of Customer Service and Innovation, UK Power Networks
  • Vincente Connolly, UK Sales Director, Scania
  • Ian Constance, Chief Executive, Advanced Propulsion Centre
  • Petr Dolejsi, Mobility & Sustainable Transport Director, European Automobile Manufacturers’ Association (ACEA)
  • Prof. David Greenwood, Professor of Advanced Propulsion Systems, Warwick Manufacturing Group
  • Graeme Grieve, Chief Executive Officer, BMW UK
  • Steve Gooding, Director, RAC Foundation
  • Dr. Michael Hajesch, Managing Director and Chief Executive, IONITY GmbH
  • Dennis Hayter, Chairman, UK H2 Mobility
  • Prof. Neville Jackson, Non-executive Director, Advanced Propulsion Centre; Chairman, RAC
  • Foundation; Chairman, Institute of Digital Engineering
  • Richard Kenworthy, Managing Director, Toyota Motor Manufacturing UK
  • Philip New, Chief Executive, Energy Systems Catapult
  • Dr. Evangelia Petavratzi, Senior Mineral Commodity Expert, British Geological Survey
  • Emma Pinchbeck, Chief Executive, Energy UK
  • Ian Plummer, Commercial Director, Auto Trader
  • Isobel Sheldon OBE, Chief Strategy Officer, Britishvolt

SMMT members are eligible for a complimentary ticket to the event. Tickets for non-SMMT members are available to purchase. For information on tickets and sponsorship opportunities, please contact events agency team by email