GKN Driveline sponsors Award for Automotive Innovation 2011

20 June 2011 #SMMT News

GKN Driveline, the leading global supplier of automotive driveline systems and solutions, will sponsor the SMMT Award for Automotive Innovation 2011.

Now in its second year, GKN Driveline will again be supporting the Award, which sets the standard in innovative automotive design, engineering and technology, by highlighting the capabilities of the UK’s automotive industry.

“As a technology and innovation leader in the automotive industry, GKN Driveline is once again honoured to sponsor the SMMT’s Award for Automotive Innovation,” said Paul Dinwiddy, Global Communication Director, GKN Driveline. “The Award is rapidly becoming established as the standard by which UK companies are recognised for their capabilities in innovative automotive design and engineering and we look forward to seeing this year’s entries, as we seek the next great idea that will change the face of the UK’s automotive industry.”

Joining the judging panel of industry experts on behalf of GKN Driveline will be Jon Beasley, Group Technology Officer, GKN, who brings his wealth of experience and expertise to an already impressive line-up of judges, which includes: Jerry Hardcastle, Vice President of Vehicle Development and Design, Nissan; Paul Everitt,  SMMT Chief Executive; Ralph Hosier, Chartered Engineer and motoring journalist and Dave Salt, Chief Engineer, GKN Driveline.

AAI 2011 is free to enter and companies and individuals from across UK automotive are invited to participate in the competition. The winner of the Award will be presented at SMMT 95th Annual Dinner supported by Lombard on 23 November 2011 at the London Hilton, Park Lane.

Last year’s Award was picked from over 40 entries across the sector and was presented to Gordon Murray Design for the iStream manufacturing process. Click through to find out more about the Award for Automotive Innovation 2011.

Click on the play button below to watch Gordon Murray, CEO and Technical Director, talk about the company’s entry to the Award for Automotive Innovation 2010.

Filter News

Update Newsletter