SMMT congratulates New Year honours recipients

04 January 2005 #SMMT News

SMMT chief executive, Christopher Macgowan, has congratulated five of the UK automotive industry’s leading members who have been honoured in the New Year honours list.



Alan Jones, chair of Toyota Motor Manufacturing (UK) has been awarded a Knighthood for his long service in the industry.



Richard Parry-Jones, group vice president for global product development and chief technical officer of Ford Motor Company becomes a CBE, as does Dave Richards of Prodrive.



Chairman of the SMMT Automotive Components Section, and GKN Driveline director for quality and sustainable development, Malcolm Bird, is made an OBE, alongside John Dennis, joint managing director of John Dennis Coachbuilders for his services to the firefighting industry.



Christopher Macgowan said, ‘Alan, Richard, Dave, Malcolm and John are all to be congratulated on these tremendous achievements. Their place on the New Year honours list shows the quality, strength and depth of people that make up the UK automotive industry.’

Filter News

Update Newsletter