SMMT Award for Automotive Innovation 2012 – broad interest shown as entries roll in

13 June 2012 #SMMT News

SMMT’s Award for Automotive Innovation, sponsored by GKN Driveline and supported by The Times, is already collecting entries from a broad cross-section of applicants, little more than a month since the competition launched for its third successive year.

Highlighting UK automotive’s current capability at the forefront of global low-carbon research and development, the Award recognises innovations within manufacturing, design and engineering, acknowledging ideas that have already benefitted, or have the potential to deliver excellence in the sector.

Companies, teams and individuals from across UK automotive are invited to participate in the competition, which will be judged by a panel of industry experts including Paul Everitt, SMMT Chief Executive; Dave Salt, GKN Driveline Chief Engineer; Ian Downing, Business Growth Fund Investment Director; Rob Llewellyn, TV presenter and automotive enthusiast, and Robert Lea, Industrial Editor, The Times.

“This Award recognises the exceptional strength of UK automotive innovation, design and engineering. By celebrating success and showcasing talent we can help fast track new ideas and business opportunities,” said Paul Everitt, SMMT Chief Executive. “There is no doubting the high calibre of automotive talent; the Award for Automotive Innovation 2012 calls for cutting-edge entries that demonstrate technical strength and ingenuity from across the UK.”

Jaguar Land Rover scooped last year’s Award for the Land Rover Range_e, an affordable plug-in hybrid 4×4 concept. In 2010, the Award was won by Gordon Murray Design for its iStream manufacturing process.

The Award for Automotive Innovation 2012 is free to enter and the winner will be announced at SMMT’s 96th Annual Dinner on 27 November 2012 at Grosvenor House, Park Lane. To book tickets for the SMMT Annual Dinner, click here.  For more details on the Award for Automotive Innovation 2012, click here.

Filter News

Update Newsletter