SMMT News UK Manufacturing

Pinnacle of automotive innovation highlighted by industry award

02 October 2013 #SMMT News #UK Manufacturing


The Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders has today announced the shortlisted entries for its Award for Automotive Innovation 2013, sponsored by GKN Driveline and supported by The Times.

Now in its fourth year, the Award showcases the UK’s capabilities in automotive design and engineering by identifying exceptional innovations that have the potential to transform the industry. This year’s shortlist spans the breadth of the sector, from supercar design to warranty analytics.

SMMT Award for Automotive Innovation 2013 shortlisted entries:

  • Ford Motor Company Ltd: 1.0 Ecoboost engine

Big-engine performance and 65mpg, all from a 1.0-litre, three-cylinder powerplant.

  • McLaren Automotive: McLaren P1

The most advanced combination of motorsport technologies ever brought together on a road car.

  • Productiv Ltd and Tata Steel: The Proving Factory

A pioneering manufacturing initiative to bridge the ‘Valley of Death’ between R&D and production.

  • We Predict: Indico

A new, comprehensive application of warranty analytics forecasting software.

  • YASA Motors: YASA-400

A lightweight but powerful electric motor, already featured in the Jaguar C-X75 supercar concept.

  • Zircotec Ltd: Zircotec Thermohold

An all-new approach to thermal coating technology – protecting carbon composite components from heat damage.


“The outstanding quality of this year’s Award entries clearly reflects the wealth of design, R&D and engineering talent that we have in the UK automotive sector,” said Mike Hawes, SMMT Chief Executive. “Diversity is one of the UK’s strengths and I am pleased to see so many different areas of the sector represented on the shortlist. I look forward to judging the Award.”

The shortlisted entrants will now have to present their innovations in front of a judging panel formed of leading industry figures.

SMMT Award for Automotive Innovation 2013 judges are:

  • Dave Salt, Chief Engineer, GKN Driveline.
  • Jim Higginbotham, Managing Director, Large Corporate and Special Asset Finance, Lombard.
  • Mike Hawes, Chief Executive, SMMT.
  • John Laughlin, Programme Manager – Low Carbon Vehicles, Technology Strategy Board.
  • Robert Lea, Industrial Editor, The Times.


The winner will then be announced at the SMMT Annual Dinner on 26 November at Grosvenor House Hotel, London.

Filter News

Update Newsletter