CV Sector TNB News Truck

Microlise reveals Driver of the Year shortlist

10 April 2019 #CV Sector #TNB News #Truck

The shortlist for the 2019 Microlise Driver of the Year Awards has been announced.

The awards aim to find the UK’s best truck drivers from a pool of more than 210,000 eligible candidates.

This year, the winners of the Short, Medium and Long-distance categories will be revealed at an exclusive black tie dinner in May. Then, the overall winner of the Driver of the Year 2019 title will be announced at the Microlise Transport Conference the following day.

The awards shortlist was drawn up after weeks of data analysis, corroboration by employers and assessment by an independent judging panel who reviewed anonymous submissions.

Among the shortlisted contenders are drivers from major brands including DHL, Ceva Logistics, Culina, Hovis and Waitrose.

Chief Executive of Microlise, Nadeem Raza, said, “The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, which is now in its fifth year, continues to highlight the expertise and sheer dedication of drivers who travel the length and breadth of the UK. According to the judging panel, there is little to separate our shortlisted drivers, who are true ambassadors for the industry.”

This year, independent judges included Chief Executive of the Road Haulage Association, Richard Burnett; Editor of Motor Transport, Steve Hobson; the recently-retired Traffic Commissioner for Scotland, Joan Aitken; NED and Board Advisor London Ambulance Service and Transport Focus, Theo De Pencer; National Officer from Unite The Union, Matt Draper; and Executive Director of Microlise, Bob Harbey.

Update Newsletter